Tejidos Jigra Knits

December 18, 2006

Holiday Knitting / Tejidos Navideños.

Filed under: calcetinar, Cuentos, Family & Friends, Garments, Knitting, malla, Prendas, punto, Stories, Tejer — jigraknits @ 7:59 am

I’m not actually knitting holiday decorations or anything like that. I’m finishing up the gifts I had planned back in July. Almost everything is done: hats, scarves, toe-up socks. Of course, I thought of a few people I could quickly knit up another couple of things for, fortunately we’ll being seeing them closer to New Year’s so I can knit after the 25th and still be ready. What does my wife do, however, but put in a special request. It appears that a colleague in the school board would like to give a chicken viking hat to a teacher in a school whose mascot is a viking. The adult version of this pattern was still a little small, so I’ve increased it by one more hat size. She told me Saturday that she needed it by Thursday. Aaaahhh! On the up side, I’m getting paid a small fee…enough to increase my stash or knitting book collection. Naturally, it’s end of term at the college, though, so I’ve been busy marking, giving exams, marking, entering grades, marking, and marking, so knitting either has to wait, or I lose sleep.

So-called scarf Festive Socks Chicken Viking Hat Viking Chicken Hat

No estoy tejiendo realmente cosas para decorar el hogar durante esta temorada navideña sino que casi termino todos los proyectos planeados desde julio: gorros, bufandas, calcetines. Por supuesto, he pensado en otras pocas personas para quienes pudiera tejer regalitos, afortunadamente no les estaremos viendo hasta fines de diciembre así que podré acabar las prendas para ellos también. El otro dia, de repente, mi esposa me pide un favor de tejer el gorro de pollo vikingo para una colega que quiere regarlarlo a un maestro en una escuela que tiene vikingo como mascot. La versión adulta no es lo suficiente grande para este maestro asi que estoy modificando el patrón. Me dijo el sabado que lo necesita para este jueves, aaaah! Por lo menos me van a pagar una suma pequeña…suficiente para aumentar mi alijo de hilo o mi colección de libros de tejer. Naturalmente estamos a finales del semestre en la universidad, asi que estoy muy ajetreado calificando, dando examenes, calificando, calculando notas, calificando y calificando, de modo que el tejer tiene que esperar o pierdo sueño.

3 Comments »

  1. I love the viking chicken hat, I have an infant great grand daughter whom I woul love to make it for, is tha pattern available on line?
    Thanks!

    Comment by janet — January 28, 2007 @ 2:42 pm

  2. Hi Charles

    I see you are a very fast knitting man.
    Frank sended me a picture of Eden with your hat, looks very cute.

    I hope your flu is away and you feel much better now, so that you can enjoy the christmas holidays.

    Have a good time.

    CU
    Corinne

    Comment by vijeta — December 20, 2006 @ 10:16 am

  3. Jajaja, ya te hice los comentarios pertinentes en tu flickr pero te los repito aquí😉. Supongo que usarás el gorro vikingo para caminar en la calle no? jajaja!!! Tu con la cabeza siempre en alto con ese gorro ok?? Yo usaba un gorro con una cara feliz y la gente se reía de mi. Poco me importaba, jajajaja!!! Me encantó la lana de tu bufanda y cómo cambia de color… es muy amplio el cambio, me encantó eso! Felicitaciones por los calcetines también, se ven un excelente trabajo y muy arduo!!😉 Aprovecho ademas de darte las gracias por tu buena voluntad de responder la entrevista de Lulú, la verdad es que me conmovió mucho tu historia y es muy lindo poder compartirla con el resto de las chicas🙂 Animo en este fin de año y muchas felicidades en esta navidad y año nuevo para ti y tu familia ^^

    Comment by Sally — December 19, 2006 @ 6:50 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

